4 activists, 1 goal: ending the extraction of fossil fuels

Vanessa Nakate from Uganda, Greta Thunberg from Sweden, Helena Gualinga from Ecuador, Luisa Neubauer from Germany.

Those women are the first signers of a worldwide climate action directed to CEOs of fossil fuels companies with the aim to stop the opening of new extraction sites.

Today the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, is coming to an end and so far almost 1,000,000 signatures have been collected to push political decision-makers and economic actors towards the ecological transition. Indeed, the Big Oil knew for decades the impacts and the environmental disasters occurred because of the burning of coal, oil, and gas but they deliberately decided not to intervene.

“These people (ed. Stakeholders in Davos) are going to go as furthest as they possibly can as long as they can get away with it. They will continue to invest in fossil fuels, they will continue to throw people under the bus for their own gain. So, I believe that the changes we need right now need to happen on the outside. We need to build and create a critical mass of people who demands change, who demands justice”.

As scientists and activists strongly claim, time has run out. In order to maintain a lower level of global warming we need to rapidly change our everyday behaviours, but most of all international actions have to be implement by politicians.  

The urgent call, structured as a Cease and Desist Notice, is intended to raise awareness around the “human right to a clean, healthy, and sustainable environment”, systematically violated by those who keep on digging in a continuous research for new oilfield and fossil fuel reserves.

The final paragraph of the call reminds how activists’ commitment is not going to end even if this attempt will not reach the expected results.

The protection of our Planet is crucial for present and future generations, and their voices have been unheard for too long. If you want to be part of the change, sign the call here. 

Cover Image: ANSA, from the left Fatih Birol, executive director of the International Energy Agency (IEA), Luise Neubauer, Helena Gualinga, Vanessa Nakate, Greta Thunberg.